Google+

Motivation Monday: Write for Yourself-Cyril Connolly

2

March 25, 2013 by Nichole Eck

Cyril Connolly

I wish every aspiring writer (and blogger) would read this quote.

Writers often idolize penning a best seller as the Holy Grail of writing. I’ve read countless “tips and tricks” that tell aspiring writers the trends in the market (vampires and dystopia!), what people really want to read, and what publishers want to publish, purporting to know the ins and outs of “how to write a bestseller.”

It’s not a bad thing to consider your reader in your writing. In fact, it’s vital. But your reader can’t be the core motivation of your writing. Your reader shouldn’t change what you say, just how you say it. Consider how best to share your thoughts and ideas with your reader, but don’t just say what you think they want to hear.

I see this in blogging all the time. Bloggers will flounder around, jumping from subject to subject, looking for one that attracts readers. I imagine some of them will wake up one day (if they haven’t already) and find themselves with a sizable audience but nothing to say.

Don’t let that happen to you.

It’s much better to have no audience but plenty to say.

You are more than your audience.

2 thoughts on “Motivation Monday: Write for Yourself-Cyril Connolly

  1. This fits in nicely with my philosophy on life, that things we don’t enjoy doing are probably not worth doing. I write what I want to, blog what I want to and if I changed that, I’d loose interest pretty quickly. I guess new writers need to take the time to find their own voice and they might start out imitating styles they admire, that’s okay, all part of the pathway.

    Thought-provoking post.

    • nicholeck says:

      Yeah, I sometimes think new writers get so focused on getting published that they forget they originally wanted to be a writer just because they liked writing! I honestly think that instant fame is actually harmful for some writers’ crafts because they don’t have time to, like you said, “find their own voice”; they just get trapped in everyone else’s expectations.

      Thanks for your comment, and I’m glad you enjoyed the post!

Leave a Reply

